(December 1998) Network Working Group, S. Deering (Cisco), R. Hinden (Nokia)

  • larger address space (128 bits, compared with 32 bits in IPv4, allowing 2^128 = 340.282.366.920.938.463.463.374.607.431.770.000.000 devices(addresses) to be registered, while IPv4 allowed only 2^32 = 4.294.967.296 devices to be directly connected with the Internet (in the same Network) more than stars in the universe 10^22 to 10^24 stars in the Universe)
  • IPv6 specifies a new packet format, designed to minimize packet header processing by routers.[2][11] Because the headers of IPv4 packets and IPv6 packets are significantly different, the two protocols are not interoperable. However, in most respects, IPv6 is an extension of IPv4. Most transport and application-layer protocols need little or no change to operate over IPv6; exceptions are application protocols that embed Internet-layer addresses, such as File Transfer Protocol (FTP) and Network Time Protocol (NTP), where the new address format may cause conflicts with existing protocol syntax.

Anatomy of IPv6 Address

HEX not DECIMAL enumeration/Encoding :-D is used.

An IPv6 Address consists of 8x segments separated by :

Each Segment consists of 4x HEX Digits

HEX: FFFF = DEC: 65535 = BIN: 11111111 11111111 (2x Bytes are needed for each segment, so a full IPv6 address needs So a full IPv6 address Needs 128Bits = 16Bytes


 \-> Global Routing Prefix: 2001:4860:0000 (Subnet: 2001)
                     \-> InterfaceID: 0000:0000:0000:0068

linux: inet6 Adresse: fe80::215:5dff:fe00:709/64

windows: fe80::d8f3:d333:f2c0:1084%9

(IPv6 LAN APIPA (self asigned addresses if no DHCPv6 is present) )

:0000: may be written/appreviated as ::

IPv6 Multicast Address:

(DEC: 65280)


 ping -6 ::1


 ping -6 0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0001

IPv6 Working-group members

were J. Allard (Microsoft), Steve Bellovin (AT&T), Jim Bound (Digital Equipment Corporation), Ross Callon (Wellfleet), Brian Carpenter (CERN), Dave Clark (MIT), John Curran (NEARNET), Steve Deering (ex-Xerox, now Cisco), Dino Farinacci (Cisco), Paul Francis (NTT), Eric Fleischmann (Boeing), Mark Knopper (Ameritech), Greg Minshall (Novell), Rob Ullmann (Lotus), and Lixia Zhang (Xerox).[10]